To be eligible for the California’s Low Cost Auto Insurance Program, or CLCA, consumers must:
  • Have a valid California driver’s license
  • Own a vehicle valued at $25,000 or less
  • Meet income eligibility guidelines
  • Be at least 16 years of age
  • Have a Good Driving Record
Income eligibility requirements per household effective 2020 are:
  • 1 person - $32,200.00
  • 2 people - $43,550.00
  • 3 people - $54,900.00
  • 4 people - $66,250.00
  • 5 people - $77,600.00
A “household” is defined as all persons listed on a federal or state income tax form.
Yes. The program will accept any one of the following documents as proof of household income:
Program Document Required

CalFresh (food stamps)

Electronic Benefit Transfer (EBT) card

CalWorks (welfare)

Notification letter

California LifeLine

A utility company Lifeline verification

LIHEAP (low income home energy assistance)

LIHEAP (low income energy assistance) verification

Medi-Cal / Medicaid

Medi-Cal card

State of California Employment Development Department (EDD) Debit Card or benefit letters

EDD debit card or benefit letter

SSI (aged, blind, disabled)

SSI verification

Social Security or Pension

Social Security or pension letter

Income Level *

  • federal or state income tax returns
  • W-2 Form
  • 1099 Form
  • payroll stub

The program provides affordable, liability only auto insurance that meets the state’s financial responsibility laws.

Basic Liability Policy limits are:

  • $10,000 bodily injury or death per person
  • $20,000 bodily injury or death per accident
  • $3,000 property damage liability per accident

For an additional charge of $39-$104 per year, consumers can add:

  • $1,000 medical payments per person
  • $10,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
  • $20,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident

The program does not offer comprehensive or collision coverage (coverage that will repair the driver’s own vehicle after an accident) but this coverage can be purchased from an insurance agent.

The annual premiums in California vary by county, ranging from $244 - $966. There are discounts if the consumer has been a licensed driver for 3 years with a good driving record.

A good driving record is defined as:

  • No more than one at-fault property damage only accident or no more than one point for a moving violation within the past three years
  • No at-fault accidents involving bodily injury or death on a driving record within the previous three years
  • No felony or misdemeanor convictions for a violation of the Vehicle Code on a motor vehicle driving record

To check the rates by county or calculate a payment* schedule, click here to access the rate calculator.

*CLCA offers two payment options:

  • Payment in full or
  • 20% down with 7 installment payments (For each installment payment there will be a $4.00 transaction fee.)

To apply for California’s Low Cost Auto Insurance Program, follow these 2 steps:

  1. Complete the eligibility questionnaire,
  2. Then complete the application process
    • Now 100% online
    • OR meet with a local agent at no cost

Please visit mylowcostauto.com and click the Get Started button.
If you do not have internet access or need additional assistance, please call 1-866-602-8861.

To apply online, visit mylowcostauto.com and click 'Get Started' to take a short eligibility questionnaire.  If deemed eligible, enter your ZIP code, then click on Apply Online.

If you are cited for not having auto insurance at the time of a moving violation or accident, there are penalties that include fines and possible vehicle registration suspension.

For more information regarding penalties for not having auto insurance, click here to access the California DMV website.

Every qualified consumer is allowed up to two Low Cost policies under the program guidelines. In fact, all vehicles* registered to you as the applicant, with a max of 2, must be enrolled in CLCA.

* Motorcycles and commercial vehicles are excluded.

The program requires that all vehicles registered to the applicant be insured in the program. Therefore, to be eligible for one vehicle in the program, consumers may not have liability coverage through any other policy for other vehicles.

Yes, but you should check with your lender to determine if the coverage limits provided by the program will meet the requirements of your loan.